Translate

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Let There Be Dark by Tim McWhorter [5 stars] Plus A Bonus Interview,,,



From the Description
 
From an oddities shop looking to expand their macabre collection, to a back roads bridge with a horrifying past, Let There Be Dark is a collection of eight sinister stories full of ghostly phantoms, savage beasts, and the most frightening creature of all: humans. This first horror collection from the author of the best-selling novel, Bone White, thrusts you beyond the fringe and reminds us why we should all fear the dark…
 
 
Publication Date: August 21, 2018
Publisher: Hydra Publications
Publication Length: 180 pages
 
 

 
I received a copy of this book as part of the publicity tour hosted by the always fabulouse Erin Al-Mehairi at Oh, for the Hook of a Book . This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this collection. I did not receive any form of compensation for my review. If you would like to review Let There Be Dark or feature Tim with an interview or guest article for a media publication, blog, or author blurb, please e-mail Erin Al-Mehairi, publicist, at hookofabook@hotmail.com.
 
 
Let There Be Dark is a very unusual collection. What's so odd about it you may ask,,, It's one of the few collections I've read this year that I can say ALL of the stories are fantastic. Not one bad or even slightly bruised apple in the bunch! From the horrific sacrifice in Pigs to the chilling ghost haunting The Bridge there is something in this collection that will make anyone's skin crawl. My favorite stories would have to be, (It was hard to narrow this down to just two!), Growing Cold Together which has a creature I hadn't encountered since my days at summer camp and was thrilled to come across within these pages, and The Company You Keep which features my favorite of all the monsters out there, you'll have to read it to find out which one. These are fast paced gems that kept me swiping the pages until the very end. I can't wait to get my hands on more tales from Tim McWhorter! A perfect Halloween read, 5 stars.
 

 
Buy the Book
Amazon        Barnes & Noble

About the Author
 
 
 
Tim McWhorter was born under a waning crescent moon, and while he has no idea what the significance is, he thinks it sounds really cool to say. A graduate of Otterbein College, he is the author of the horror-thrillers, Shadows Remain, Bone White, its sequel, Blackened, and Let There Be Dark. He lives just outside of Columbus, OH, with his wife, a dwindling number of children and a few obligatory "family" pets that have somehow become solely his responsibility. He is currently hard at work on one of several ongoing projects and relies on interaction with readers for those much-needed breaks…
 
 

Praise
 
 

"Crafting creepy thrillers in the vein of Tim Waggoner and Dean Koontz, Tim McWhorter doesn’t disappoint." – Brian Keene, author of The Complex and The Rising
"[A]n intelligent thrill ride ... a love letter to slasher stories." – David J. Sharp, Horror Underground
"Bone White stands tall in the horror field. McWhorter is an author to watch." - C. Bryan Brown, author of They Are Among Us
"McWhorter reaches deep inside us to find our darkest fears then brings them to life on the page. He makes the things that go bump in the night afraid." - Tony Acree, author of The Hand of God
"McWhorter is a very capable writer with an engaging style." - Ed Gosney, author of Prometheus Stumbles
 
 

 
 
And now as a special Halloween treat read on for my interview with Tim McWhorter,,,,
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1. Tell me a little about yourself.
 
 
 
I currently live in the suburbs of Columbus, Ohio, but hope to one day make my home where six-month winters don’t exist. I started writing later in life, and even then, pretty much only wrote for myself. A few years ago, with the encouragement of fellow authors, I started taking this writing thing more seriously. I now have six books out through various publishers.
 
 
 

2. What do you do when you’re not writing (day job)?
 
Fortunately, I do have a day job, so my family doesn’t have to resort to cannibalism to survive. One would hope there are other reasons keeping them from it, but one can never be too sure. From 8-5, Monday through Friday, I design molds and dies for an industrial ceramic manufacturer.
 
 
3. How long have you been writing?
 
I’ve been creating with words since high school in the mid 80s, cutting my teeth on really bad song lyrics that even the cheesiest of the spandex-wearing hair bands would feel were beneath them. As I got older, I played around with the short story concept to equally incompetent results. It wasn’t until much later when I went back to college as an adult that I learned how to churn out somewhat palatable work. That was about 2003. I self-published my first book, a novella titled Shadows Remain, in 2013.
 
 
4. Who or what inspired you to be a writer?
 
I’m not sure if any one writer or author inspired me to start writing. I’ve always been a lover of books, going back as far as I can remember. I didn’t have video games and smart phones and YouTube back then, and I thank God for it. I immersed myself in television and books. I think I consumed enough storytelling that, ultimately, I wanted to try telling my own stories.
 
 
5. What do you find most challenging and enjoyable as an author?
 
Easily the most challenging part of being a writer is getting my work in front of people. Broadening my readership. A recent reviewer of my latest book asked how she had never heard of me before. And my response would be, "I know, right? I’m trying!" The writing process itself is the easy part, and the part I love most. Simply creating characters and fleshed-out stories from mere fleeting thoughts. That’s magic and exciting as hell. I even enjoy the editing phase. As long as I’m moving forward with a project, I’m in a good place.
 
 
6. Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)?
 
The words seem to flow more fluidly when I write either outdoors, or in front of a large window where I can see the outdoors. I’m not sure why, but nature has not only a quieting effect on me, but an inspiring one. Even a simple drive in the country gets me in the mood to write.
 
 
7. What kind of hobbies do you enjoy in your free time?
 
I’ve dabbled with many hobbies through the years, but the two constants have been travelling and movies. I really enjoy getting away from home and seeing places I don’t see every day. I get excited even for a day trip somewhere new, hitting wineries with my wife. At least I’m out and about. And when I can’t be out and about, I like to turn off the lights, draw the curtains and start a movie. Home theater systems were invented for people like me.
 
 
8. What is your favorite book? Movie? TV show?
 
Favorite movie would be Legends of the Fall. It’s so heartbreaking. Jaws comes in a very close second. I’ve loved too many books over the years to pick an absolute favorite, but one of them would be Nathaniel by John Saul. It’s the book that hooked me on horror. Television has really upped its game in recent years, making it difficult to choose a favorite. Netflix’s Hell on Wheels, The Killing and Broadchurch are a few. Big Bang Theory is probably my network favorite.
 
 
9. Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
 
Just write. Keep writing and then write some more. It’s the only way to get better. A golfer doesn’t improve his or her swing by not hitting more balls. Even flash fiction or blog posts will help hone your skills. And don’t listen to the naysayers. You can do this.
 
 
10. Can you tell us about any of your new work? Future work?
 
I recently saw the release of my first collection of horror short stories, Let There Be Dark. It contains a little bit of everything, from the paranormal to creatures to human beings with more than one screw loose. It’s getting pretty good reviews, so it apparently doesn’t suck. That’s always a fear. My current work in progress takes place in an old, yet refurbished theater that may or may not be haunted. It’s probably 90% complete, so I hope to be shopping it around next year.
 
 
11. If you weren’t a writer, what would you do for a living?
 
Since I’m so far removed from writing for a living, I would probably do what I do now—design things. Right now, it’s tooling for a ceramic manufacturer, but I’ve also designed all of my own book covers. I really enjoy it. If I could make a living creating book covers for others, I would.
 
 
12. What scares you?
 
I had a Christian upbringing. And while I don’t practice it as much as I did then, books or movies with religious (or more so, sacrilegious) undertones still unnerve me like no other. Ghosts don’t bother me. Werewolves, zombies nor vampires. But, tell me a story where a priest is confronting a demon, or a young girl is screwing around with a Ouija board, that affects my heartrate.
 
 
13. What question do you wish someone would ask and what is the answer?
 
"Who is Tim McWhorter and is he any good?" The answer is, "Hell yes, and you should give him a try."

 
14. Where can fans stalk you online?
 
 
Feel free to check out my website, www.timmcwhorter.com or my Amazon or GoodReads pages, especially if they’d like to leave a review. Facebook, Twitter and email (tm5to1@live.com) are the best ways to reach out and personally tell me how much you love my work. LOL Readers can also use those portals to tell me how much I suck, but I don’t respond to those messages nearly as quickly.
 

 

 


No comments:

Post a Comment