Translate

Monday, March 26, 2018

Land of Bones by Glenn Rolfe [5 stars]



From the Description
 
"A rising star in the genre!" – Ronald Malfi, author of BONE WHITE
"A vital part of this generation." – Brian Keene, author THE RISING
 
Demon lights, granted wishes, strange things, and brutal love at the Lucky Lounge Motel. A haunted sister, desperate parents, a little human touch, and the end of the world…
These are the stories whispered among dead leaves, the script etched bare for all to see. When the chills sink deep and your heart begins to pound…are you alone?
Welcome to Glenn Rolfe’s LAND OF BONES
14 tales of the strange and macabre
 
Publication Date: February 22, 2018
Publisher: Alien Agenda Publishing
Publication Length: 219 pages
 
Land of Bones is the fantastic new short story collection written by Glenn Rolfe. In this collection you will find stories that will make you laugh, make your skin crawl, and break your heart, often all at the same time. Glenn has quickly risen through the ranks to become one of my favorite authors because of his ability to make you care about his characters as if they were your own friends or family. I’m continuously blown away by the fact he can do this with not only a novel but with a short story as well. I loved Not In Kansas Anymore, a throwback to some of the best old-school vampire stories out there. Welcome to Paradise is like Natural Born Killers meets Romeo and Juliet, a Christmas love story for the depraved bits in all of us horror fanatics. In Avenging Kitten a killer gets some payback (Anyone who has ever loved and lost a pet in a horrible way will appreciate this story). With Charley Sings The World Away we experience a father's despair as he watches his baby girl on the day of the apocalypse, can someone please pass the tissues. We get to catch up with Lee Buhl (The Haunted Halls) as he returns to Maine and faces some demons of his own in Death Lights. And then there’s The Rooster, probably the best story in this book. This one hurt. A lot. Brought back feelings I thought I had come to terms with from some personal losses of my own. Fuck. You. Cancer. All in all this is a great collection, I highly recommend this 5 star read.
 
Buy the Book
 
Amazon       Barnes & Noble
 
About the Author
 
 
Glenn Rolfe is an author/singer/songwriter from the haunted woods of New England. He has studied Creative Writing at Southern New Hampshire University, and continues his education in the world of horror by devouring the novels of Stephen King, Ronald Malfi, Jack Ketchum, and many others. He and his wife, Meghan, have three children, Ruby, Ramona, and Axl. He is grateful to be loved despite his weirdness. He is the author of Becoming, Blood and Rain, The Haunted Halls, Chasing Ghosts, Abram's Bridge, Things We Fear, and the collections, Out of Range, Slush. Land of Bones, and the forthcoming, A Box Full of Monsters. He is hard at work on many more. Stay tuned!
 
You can follow Glenn on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads
 
Praise
 
"Whatever flavor of horror you like, LAND OF BONES serves up a dish for you. Rolfe's range is wide and he cuts deep." - Tom Deady, Bram Stoker Winning author of HAVEN and WEEKEND GETAWAY
 
"Rolfe delivers the scares, empathy, heartache, and loss. One of the best collections I've ever read!" - Cedar Hollow Horror Reviews
 
"LAND OF BONES is like a good beer - crisp, refreshing, and it has this lingering aftertaste that makes you want to order a second round. A very good read from a talented writer." --Tim Meyer, author of IN THE HOUSE OF MIRRORS and SHARKWATER BEACH
 
"Each of these selections was unique in both setting and characters, paying homage to all the different types of "loss" we have to contend with. A great collection with literally something for everyone."  - Horror After Dark
 
"A cold, relentless cocktail of childhood nostalgia and cosmic horror. Everywhere you look, bones await to be discovered. Rolfe's stories serve as a good reminder that one day, those bones will belong to you."--Max Booth III, Managing Editor of Dark Moon Digest
 
 


Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Monsters In The Clouds by Russell James [4.5 stars]


 
From the Description
Paleontologist Grant Coleman and activist Janaina Silva are recruited by Thana Katsoros for a top secret expedition, one in search of a live Apatosaurus on a plateau deep in the Amazonian rain forest.

But their plane crashes short of their destination, and the entire group faces a terrifying fight for survival. This isolated area hosts unknown animals more fearsome than they’d expected, including giant ants and flesh-eating pterosaurs.

Even worse, Katsoros’ agenda has more to it than meets the eye, and Grant soon fears that it doesn’t include all of them getting back alive. Will any expedition members survive to be rescued, or will they be devoured by the creatures indigenous peoples call the monsters in the clouds?
 
Publication Date: January 29, 2018
Publisher: Severed Press
Publication Length: 142 pages
 
I received a copy of this book from the author for review consideration. This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this novella. I did not receive any form of compensation for my review.
 
Monsters In The Clouds is a rip-roaring adventure complete with nefarious villains, giant insects and prehistoric creatures. Grant Coleman is just as much fun to follow as he was in Cavern Of The Damned, Janaina is a great character as well. The setting is exotic, mysterious and full of things that want to eat you,,,, what could go wrong? The action starts as soon as the party arrives (with a bang!) and doesn’t let up. I can’t wait to see where Russell James takes this fantastic duo next! Fans of Jurassic Park and Indiana Jones will love this book. Grab this 4.5 star read and hold on to your seat!
 
Buy the Book
 
 
About the Author
 


 
Russell James was raised on Long Island, New York and spent too much time watching Chiller, Kolchak: The Night Stalker, and Dark Shadows, despite his parents’ warnings. Bookshelves full of Stephen King and Edgar Allan Poe didn’t make things better. He graduated from Cornell University and the University of Central Florida.

After a tour flying helicopters with the U.S. Army, he now spins twisted tales best read in daylight.

He has published six paranormal thrillers with Samhain, as well as the novella Blood Red Roses. He has published the short story collections Tales from Beyond, Deeper into Darkness and authored and edited the collections Out of Time, Still Out of Time, Centauri Station, and Outer Rim. His short stories appeared at Daily Science Fiction, Tales of Old, Encounters, In A Land Far Away… He founded the Minnows Literary Group.

His wife reads what he writes, rolls her eyes, and says “There is something seriously wrong with you.” They share their home in sunny Florida with two cats.

Drop a line at
rrj@russellrjames.com or drop by the website to kill some time with some short stories. You can also find Russell on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads.
 

Praise


"James has a talent for combining action-packed vignettes into a powerful, fast-paced whole."
—Library Journal on Black Magic

(Five Stars, A Night Owl Top Pick) "I loved the story so much that I’m eagerly waiting to read more from him. He carefully and very intricately wove his storyline to have elements of mystery and suspense throughout. I now have a new favorite book I’ll read over and over again."
—Night Owl Reviews on Dark Inspiration

"The book had me at the edge of my seat. The writing is so vivid I even jumped a few times. If you're a fan of the genre, love ghosts and are drawn to the supernatural, then do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this book!"
—Long and Short Reviews on Dark Inspiration

Q-Island is a top-notch novel that needs to be at the beginning of every apocalyptic/horror/thriller fans reading list. It's action-packed, violent, frightening and completely captivating, and seriously deserves Hollywood's attention.
- David Bernstein author of The Unhinged and Amongst the Dead

James creates powerful intimacy and terror....This is a seriously creepy page-turner that will keep readers up all night.
- Starred review from Publisher's Weekly

...it surprised me at almost every turn. I hated having to put it down, and eagerly anticipated jumping back into it. Not only has James written a fantastic book, but he has also earned a reader for life in me.
- Horror Buzz

A riveting and impressively well-crafted action/suspense novel, Q Island is an exceptional read from beginning to end and very highly recommended for community libraries where it will prove to be an enduring, popular addition to their collections.
-Midwest Book Review