Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Episodes Of Violence by David Bernstein [4 stars]

From the Description
Amber had been looking forward to college life. She loved high school and was certain college would be even better, especially since she pledged one of the sororities on campus. At least that was what she thought, until one night her soul was fractured and darkness awoke within her.
Unable to cope, she returns home hoping to heal. Unfortunately, her hometown is wrought with brutal violence. People are being slaughtered in random fashion. The police are clueless. Despite the surrounding chaos, she is still determined to thrive.
However, when the violence shows up at her front door and rips her life apart, she realizes that the darkness within her is the only thing that will keep her sane and alive.
From the storyteller mastermind David Bernstein, author of Witch Island and A Mixed Bag of Blood, comes one of his most gut-wrenching tales yet. You might not sleep after this one.
Publication Date: October 15, 2017
Publisher: Sinister Grin Press
Publication Length: 278 pages
I received a free copy of this book as part of the Episodes of Violence publicity tour, hosted by the wonderful Erin Al-Mehari over at Hookof a Book Media & Publicity and Sinister Grin Press. This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this novel. I did not receive any form of compensation for my review. Follow along the tour with these hashtags: #EpisodesOfViolence  #SinisterGrinPress
Episodes of Violence starts out with a bang and never lets up. Consider this review a warning to those of a more delicate nature, this one isn’t for the squeamish. But if you’re anything like me, you won’t be able to put this fast paced book down until you turn the last page. I found it a bit disconcerting to sympathize with Sage, Daemon, and Bobby. It’s always weird for me to identify with the ‘Bad Guys’. Amber’s story is heartbreaking and far too common in the world today. When these characters finally come together the action is explosive. I highly recommend this gripping 4 star read.
Buy the Book
Amazon       Barnes & Noble
About the Author
David Bernstein is originally from a small town in Upstate New York called Salisbury Mills. He now resides in NYC and misses being surrounded by chainsaw-wielding maniacs and wild backwoods people that like to eat raw human flesh. He’s grown used to the city, though hiding bodies is much harder there. He is the author of Amongst the Dead, Damaged Souls, The Tree Man, Witch Island, Relic of Death, Apartment 7C and the forthcoming Episodes of Violence. David writes all kinds of horror, from hair-raising ghost stories to gore-filled slashers and apocalyptic tales of terror. He loves hearing from his readers. You can find him at his WEBSITE, email him at , or find him on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads.
"David Bernstein delivers a fast-moving tale of desire and destruction that gives new meaning to the words, 'Be careful what you wish for.' Relic of Death twists reality and will leave you reflecting on your own personal Achilles heel long after you finished reading…" —Allan Leverone, author of Mr. Midnight
"A fascinating, unpredictable, ever-shifting tale of greed and desperation. Highly recommended!" —Jeff Strand, author of Pressure
“Fast-paced, cinematic, and excellent. Horror fans gather around, it’s time for another chilling tale from David Bernstein.”  —Keith Deininger, author of Within and Ghosts of Eden
"A harrowing, brutal thriller, Skinner is Bernstein at his best!" —Peter Giglio, author of Shadowshift