Translate

Friday, November 18, 2016

Stabco: You Need Nothing Else by Joe Schwartz [4.5 stars]

 
 
From the Description
 
 
Jesus Christ, Jim Jones, and Joseph Smith all had one thing in common – they all believed they were God… at least for a moment.


Randy and Raymond have discovered a "new" God in The Supreme Master – the singular and irrefutable leader of STABCO.


Without knowing it, He has chosen them ― Without trying, They have served him


A cult and a corporation Hell bent on making BIG profits, STABCO has found its new cash cow in Randy and Raymond. But like Momma always says, nothing good comes easy and likely nothing worth having is ever free.


This is their story.
Randy and Raymond.


Two loser brothers hoping to find salvation and redemption through the sale of knives door-to-door.


It will be a miracle if they survive.
 
 
Publication Date: October 20, 2016
Publisher: Dark Serpent/Ravenswood Publishing
Publication Length: 212 pages
 
 
I received a copy of this book for review purposes. This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this anthology. I did not receive any form of compensation for my review.
 

Stabco is a glimpse at the lives of Randy and Raymond, brothers who couldn't catch a break if it fell into their lap. This book is full of dark humor and has a gritty feel that I loved. Randy and Raymond are the perfect anti-heroes, uneducated, broke and definitely not PC, but still very likeable in spite of themselves. Stabco is a cult-like company that sells knives, headed by The Supreme Master. When they went to their first Stabco meeting I was thinking "No! Don't Drink The Kool-Aid!!". The other characters you meet along the way are just as idiosyncratic as the brothers. Bizarre situations and hilariously convoluted dialogue make this a great read for fans of The Big Lebowski or Fight club. Haven't read anything by Joe Schwartz yet, what are you waiting for? This guy is fantastic! A highly recommended 4.5 star read.
 
 
Buy the Book
 
Amazon       Barnes & Noble
 

About the Author
 
 
A St. Louis native, my stories consistently feature the city. My preferred style of fiction is called transgressive fiction. That is, my stories' protagonists generally find a solution to their problems through either illicit or illegal means.


I personally prefer stories told through a criminal's point of view. It's not the crime that fascinates me so much as the motivation to do it and the terrible,
almost predictable outcomes of such actions.


Just as I have an expectation of writing to be read, I believe that it is as important, if not more so, that you as a reader should have the expectation of being entertained as you read. Anything less is such a disappointment.


Life is short. Stories are forever. -Joe

 
You can follow Joe on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads
 

Praise
 
"a great storyteller on par with Joe Lansdale" - Michele "Izzy" Galgana, Fangoria


"I need to go out and grab all of his books and give them a read!" - The Horror Bookshelf