Translate

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Children Of The Dark by Jonathan Janz [5 stars]


 
 

From the Description
 


Will Burgess is used to hard knocks. Abandoned by his father, son of a drug-addicted mother, and charged with raising his six-year-old sister, Will has far more to worry about than most high school freshmen. To make matters worse, Mia Samuels, the girl of Will’s dreams, is dating his worst enemy, the most sadistic upperclassman at Shadeland High. Will’s troubles, however, are just beginning.

Because one of the nation’s most notorious criminals
the Moonlight Killerhas escaped from prison and is headed straight toward Will’s hometown. And something else is lurking in Savage Hollow, the forest surrounding Will’s rundown house. Something ancient and infinitely evil. When the worst storm of the decade descends on Shadeland, Will and his friends must confront unfathomable horrors. Everyone Will loveshis mother, his little sister, Mia, and his friendswill be threatened.

And very few of them will escape with their lives.
 
 

Print Length: 293 pages


Publication Date: March 15, 2016

 


I received an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this book. Follow along with the blog tour hosted by the always fantastic Erin Al-Mehairi over at Oh, for the Hook of a Book. For more information you can contact her at hookofabook@hotmail.com
 
 
 
 

 
 
Children Of The Dark is hands down the best book I've read this year! It has set the bar extremely high for all of the books that will follow. Filled with characters that are easy to care about and non-stop terror, I couldn't put it down. Will is a typical teenage boy who not only has to deal with the normal problems a fifteen year old has but must also deal with a drug addicted mother, an absent father he's never met, and being a parent to his little sister, Peach. When you throw in a serial killer and vicious creatures lurking in the woods near his house you get pure horror gold. I loved Will and his friends! This story is reminiscent of some of my favorite coming of age horror novels like It or Boy's Life. Every book I read by Jonathan Janz is better than the last. If you haven't read one of his books yet you are missing out on an incredibly talented author. Fans of King, Laymon, and McCammon will love this phenomenal 5 star read.


Buy the Book

Children of the Dark comes out on March 15. It is available for pre-order at Amazon


About the Author
 
 
 


Jonathan Janz grew up between a dark forest and a graveyard, and in a
way, that explains everything. Brian Keene named his debut novel The Sorrows "the best horror novel of 2012." The Library Journal deemed his follow-up, House of Skin, "reminiscent of Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House and Peter Straub’s Ghost Story."
2013  saw the publication of  his novel of vampirism and demonic possession The Darkest Lullaby, as well as his serialized horror novel Savage Species. Of Savage Species, Publishers Weekly said, "Fans of old-school splatterpunk horror–Janz cites Richard Laymon as an influence, and it shows–will find much to relish." Jonathan’s Kindle Worlds novel Bloodshot: Kingdom of Shadows marked his first foray into the superhero/action genre.
Jack Ketchum called his vampire western Dust Devils a "Rousing-good weird western," and his sequel to The Sorrows (Castle of Sorrows) was selected one of 2014’s top three novels by Pod of Horror. 2015 saw the release of  The Nightmare Girl, which prompted Pod of Horror to call Jonathan "Horror’s Next Big Thing."  2015 also saw the  release of Wolf Land, which Publishers Weekly called "gruesome yet entertaining gorefest" with "an impressive and bloody climax."  He has also written four novellas (Exorcist Road, The Clearing of Travis Coble, Old Order, and Witching Hour Theatre) and several short stories.


His primary interests are his wonderful wife and his three amazing children, and though he realizes that every author’s wife and children are wonderful and amazing, in this case the cliché happens to be true. You can learn more about Jonathan at http://jonathanjanz.com/. You can also find him on Facebook, on Twitter, or on his Goodreads and Amazon author pages.




 



Praise for Children of the Dark




"Jonathan Janz brings us a vicious tale of terror with the innocence of youth in a coming of age tale that should surely make Stephen King smile." – Dave, Beneath the Underground



"Jonathan Janz has written the next definitive coming-of-age horror novel that is sure to be mentioned alongside those that came before it. Be on the right side of history and read it now, before it becomes a classic." –Patrick Lacey, author of A Debt to be Paid



Praise for Jonathan Janz



 
 
"Janz is the literary love child of Richard Laymon and Jack Ketchum (with a little Joe Lansdale DNA in the mix), with all the terror that implies. Try him out. You won’t be disappointed."
-Pod of Horror
 
"One of the best writers in modern horror to come along in the last decade. Janz is one of my new favorites." –Brian Keene, best-selling author
 
"It’s the best of its kind I’ve read in years, such that I’d call it 'The Quintessential Haunted House Novel.' You’ve taken the old school traditions of the form which readers want and then have injected modern style, characters, and macabre, hard-edged mayhem into the guts of the story. THAT’S the way to do it, my friend!"
-Author Edward Lee on House of Skin
 
"Jonathan Janz is one of the rare horror novelists who can touch your heart while chilling your spine. His work offers incisive characters, sharp dialogue, and more scares than a deserted graveyard after midnight. If you haven’t read his fiction, you’re missing out on one the best new voices in the genre." –Tim Waggoner, multi-published author
 
"Fans of old-school splatterpunk horror--Janz cites Richard Laymon as an influence, and it shows--will find much to relish." - Publishers Weekly on Savage Species