Friday, January 15, 2016

Eidolon Avenue by Jonathan Winn [4.5 stars]

From the Description
Eidolon Avenue: where the secretly guilty go to die.

One building. Five floors. Five doors per floor. Twenty-five nightmares feeding the hunger lurking between the bricks and waiting beneath the boards.

The First Feast. A retired Chinese assassin in apartment 1A fleeing from a lifetime of bloodshed. A tattooed man in 1B haunted by his most dangerous regret. A frat boy serial killer in 1C facing his past and an elderly married couple stumbling and wounded from fifty years of failed murder/suicide pacts in 1D. And, finally, a young girl in 1E whose quiet thoughts unleash unspeakable horror.

All thrown into their own private hell as every cruel choice, every deadly mistake, every drop of spilled blood is remembered, resurrected and relived to feed the ancient evil that lives on Eidolon Avenue.
I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review from the great folks at Crystal Lake Publishing. This is in no way reflected in my review.
Eidolon Avenue is a collection of novellas that will take you to places that are disturbingly horrific and visceral. Places filled with hungry ghosts and monsters that are all too human. Some of these stories are definitely not for the squeamish. My favorite two in this collection, Click and Bullet are filled with such vivid imagery that made me cringe and my skin crawl. While Umbra was heartbreakingly sad and yet terrifies at the same time. All of the novellas in this collection are well written slices of hell. Jonathan Winn's captivating writing has earned him a new fan. A great 4.5 star collection for horror fans!
Buy the Book
About the Author
Jonathan Winn (Member, HWA) is a screenwriter and author of Eidolon Avenue: The First Feast (Crystal Lake Publishing) as well as the full-length novels Martuk ... the Holy (A Highlight of the Year, 2012 Papyrus Independent Fiction Awards), Martuk ... the Holy: Proseuche (Top Twenty Horror Novels of 2014, Preditors & Editors Readers Poll), Martuk ... the Holy: Shayateen (2016) and The Martuk Series (The Wounded King, The Elder, Red and Gold), an ongoing collection of short fiction inspired by Martuk ...

His work can also be found in Horror 201: The Silver Scream, Writers on Writing, Vol. 2, and Crystal Lake's Tales from the Lake, Vol. 2, with his award-winning short story Forever Dark.

Feel free to visit him at 

No comments:

Post a Comment